E.MA Directors

Prof. Hans Giessmann

tl_files/EIUC MEDIA/EMA/Directors/uni_giess.jpgName and Title: Professor Hans J. Giessmann

Position: E.MA National Director

Postal Address: Berghof Foundation, Altensteinstr. 48a, 14195 Berlin,   Germany

Phone: 0049 (0) 30-844154-0

Email: giessmann@Berghof-foundation.org


Hans J. Giessmann holds Doctorates in Philosophy and Political Science. He is Executive Director of the Berlin based Berghof Foundation, which is running projects on global scale in conflict transformation research, peace support and peace education. He is also member of the faculty of the political science department of the University of Hamburg. His affiliation with that University began in 1995 when he was appointed Private Lecturer. At that time he was senior fellow – later he became Deputy Director – of the Institute for Peace Research and Security Policy at the University of Hamburg (IFSH). The IFSH has taken on the responsibility of hosting E.MA students during the 2nd Semester according to its peace research profile. He has published and edited many books, the most recent of which is Post-war Security Transitions. Participatory Peacebuilding after Asymmetric Conflict (with co-eds. Veronique Dudouet and Katrin Planta, London: Routledge, 2012).

Research Expertise and Interests

His research interests lie primarily in the field of conflict transformation, security politics and peacebuilding. Other more private passions include travelling and hiking.


Professor Giessmann teaches Security Policy and Conflict Transformation.

Key Publications

2011: Advancing Conflict Transformation. The Berghof Handbook II (with co-eds. Beatrix Austin and Martina Fischer) Opladen, Farmington Hills: Budrich

2011: The Non-Linearity of Peace Processes (with co-eds. Daniela Koerppen and Norbert Ropers), Opladen, Farmington Hills: Budrich

Non-academic affiliations

Dr Giessmann is Member of the Global Agenda Council “Terrorism” of the World Economic Forum. He has been also Chair and Deputy Chair of this Council and has been re-appointed twice since 2010.

Link to a detailed CV